NEW YORK, NY - JANUARY 08: Bradley Cooper, Lady Gaga, and Steven Spielberg attend The National Board of Review Annual Awards Gala at Cipriani 42nd Street on January 8, 2019 in New York City. (Photo by Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images for National Board of Review)

Last night, The National Board of Review hosted its annual awards dinner at Cipriani 42nd Street celebrating excellence in filmmaking with categories that include Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor and Actress, Best Ensemble, Best Original and Adapted Screenplay, Breakthrough Performance, Best Documentary, and Directorial Debut, as well as signature honors such as the Freedom of Expression, and the William K. Everson Film History Award.  

NEW YORK, NY – JANUARY 08: Awkwafina, Constance Wu, Trevor Noah, Michelle Yeoh, and Gemma Chan pose with an award backstage during The National Board of Review Annual Awards Gala at Cipriani 42nd Street on January 8, 2019 in New York City. (Photo by Jamie McCarthy/Getty Images for National Board of Review)

The event hosted by Willie Geist honored Best Director recipient, Bradley Cooper, Best Actor recipient, Viggo Mortensen, Best Actress recipient, Lady Gaga, Best Supporting Actor recipient, Sam Elliott, Best Supporting Actress recipient, Regina King, Best Screenplay recipient, Paul Schrader, Best Adapted Screenplay recipients, Barry Jenkins, Best Breakthrough Performance recipient, Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Best Directorial Debut recipient Bo Burnham, Best Animated Feature recipient, Brad Bird, Best Film recipient Peter Farrelly, Best Foreign Language Film recipient Pawel Pawlikowski, Best Ensemble recipients Awkwafina, Gemma Chan, Constance Wu, and Michelle Yeoh, and William K. Everson Film History Award recipients Frank Marshall, Bob Murawski, Morgan Neville, & Filip Jan Rymsza. 


Presenters and additional attendees included Uzo Aduba, Jim Burke, Sophia Bush, Linda Cardellini, Stephen Colbert, Brian Currie, Elsie Fisher, Dede Gardner, Richard Gere, Debra Granik, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Brett Haley, Josh Hamilton, Alan Horn, Danny Huston, Jack Huston, Jeremy Kleiner, David Linde, Kenneth Lonergan, Sara Murphy, Trevor Noah, John Penotti, Adele Romanski, April Ryan, Peter Sarsgaard, Irina Shayk, Steven Spielberg, Nick Vallelonga, Meredith Vieira, Charlie Wessler, Olivia Wilde, and more.

Previous articleGolden Globes Weekend Takes Over Hollywood
Next articleHFPA
Valerie Milano is the well-connected Senior Editor and TV Critic at TheHollywoodTimes.Today, a showbiz/promotions aggregate mainly for insiders. She has written for Communications Daily, Hollywood Today, Television International, and Video Age International plus freelanced for others. Valerie donates and works closely with the Human Rights Campaign (Fed Club Council Member), GLSEN, Outfest, NCLR, LAMBDA Legal and the Desert Aids Project. She is a member of the Los Angeles Press Club. Milano loves meeting people and does so in her fave getaway Palm Springs as a member of the Palm Springs Museum of Art and the Old Las Palmas area community member. Valerie was a veteran 17-year member, and one of the "chief organizers” of the prestigious and long running, TCA: Television Critics Association’s press tour. For years Valerie was a board member and one of the chief organizers of the association. TCA press tours are “a must” for hundreds of TV critics twice a year, in Beverly Hills and in Pasadena.