Home Awards The Brain Mapping Foundation to Host its 14th Annual "Gathering for Cure"...

The Brain Mapping Foundation to Host its 14th Annual "Gathering for Cure" Gala on April 20th, 2017

Brian Mapping Fountaion 2017 | Charity News 2017
Composition of human brain model and world map

by Dr. Laura Wilhelm, LauraWil Intercultural



Los Angeles, CA (The Hollywood Times) 4/16/17 – The Millennium Biltmore Hotel located at 506 South Grand Avenue will host the Brain Mapping Foundation’s 14th Annual “Gathering for Cure” Black Tie Gala on the evening of Thursday, April 20th, 2017.  Cocktails will begin at 6 p.m. and the black tie dinner will begin at 8 p.m.

Host. David Walton

Hosted by actor David Walton, the gala will feature Keynote Speaker Peter Diamandis, MD and Honorary Guest Rear Admiral Colin Chinn, MD. 

Dr. Diamandis is a Greek-American engineer, physician, and entrepreneur.  He founded the X Prize Foundation; co-founded Singularity University; and co-authored New York Times bestsellers Abundance: The Future Is Better Than You Think and BOLD: How to Go Big, Create Wealth, and Impact the World.  Formerly Diamandis worked in the aerospace industry.

Dr. Chinn did several tours with the US Marine Corps and was selected as the Navy surgeon general specialty leader for Fleet Marine Forces during the final one in 2008-2010.  His most recent assignment was command surgeon, US Pacific Command (USPACOM) from July 2013-April 2016, responsible for USPACOM global health engagement activities in the Indo-Asia-Pacific region.  Chinn is currently assigned as Director, Research, Development and Acquisition, Defense Health Agency.  He has been decorated for valor many times by the US Marine Corps and serves as an Assistant Professor in Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences  (USUHS).

Brain Mapping Foundation are proud to present the 2017 Awardees: Travis Roy

On this occasion Travis Roy will receive the Beacon of Courage and Dedication Award.  On October 20th, 1995 Roy was paralyzed from the neck down at age 20 during his very first college hockey game as a star recruit at Boston University.  Since then he has raised millions for spinal cord injury research with the Travis Roy Foundation.  “My work has helped me create a life. . .which is very much worth living,” Roy has said. 

George Ojemann, MD

George Ojemann, MD and John Adler, MD will receive the Pioneer in Medicine Awards.

Afsaneh Rabiei, PhD will receive thePioneer in Technology Award. 
Jerry McNerney, PhD

Jerry McNerney, PhD will receive the Pioneer in Healthcare Policy Award.

Michael Roy, MD, MPH and Wes Ashford, MD, PhD will receive the Golden Axon Awards
Ajeet Kaushik, PhD

Ajeet Kaushik, PhD, Nasser Kashou, PhD, and Alexander Stahn, PhD will receive theYoung Investigator Awards.

For more information about all of these distinguished participants and honorees, please visit
Brain Mapping Foundation

About the BMF and SBMT:

The Brain Mapping Foundation (BMF) and Society for Brain Mapping and Therapeutics (SBMT) remain on the forefront of brain mapping research by engaging all stakeholders and partnering with many government agencies, industry leaders, and non-profit organizations.  Their board and faculty comprise world class scientists, researchers, engineers, and surgeons from across the United States of America, Canada, Australia, and many other countries.