The TCA Enrolls ABC’s ‘Abbott Elementary’ Stars Janelle James, Lisa Ann Walter and Sheryl Lee Ralph as Hosts of the 38TH Annual Event, which will Take Place In Person at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena on August 6


 LOS ANGELES – June 27, 2022The Television Critics Association (TCA) announced today the emcees for the 38TH Annual TCA Awards, which will be held in person for the first time in three years. School may be out for summer, but class is still in session at the Summer TCA Tour as ABC’s Abbott Elementary series standouts Janelle James, Lisa Ann Walter, and Sheryl Lee Ralph take the stage for the highly-anticipated evening set to take place at The Langham Huntington, Pasadena, on Saturday, August 6.

The event highlights the best programs and performances from the 2021-2022 television season, as voted on by the TCA’s membership of more than 200 professional journalists covering television. The TCA presents awards in 13 categories, honoring outstanding achievements in Drama; Comedy; Miniseries; Youth; News and Information; Reality; and Variety, Sketch or Talk Shows, among others.


James, Walter, and Ralph will open the night’s festivities before handing the reins over to the critics who will announce the event’s winners. Fueled by the trademark humor and personalities of its cast, Abbott Elementary has skyrocketed to success as one of the season’s biggest breakout hits—and the TCA Awards’ most-nominated program. Abbott Elementary leads all series with five nominations to its credit, including a pair of Individual Achievement In Comedy nods for series creator, producer, writer, and star Quinta Brunson, and scene-stealing comic Janelle James; as well as Outstanding New Program, Outstanding Achievement In Comedy, and Program Of The Year.

James, Walter, and Ralph join an impressive all-star roster of previous TCA Awards hosts, which includes Desus & Mero, Robin Thede, Kristin Chenoweth, Jaime Camil, James Corden, Terry Crews, Bryan Cranston, Ellen DeGeneres, Conan O’Brien, Drew Carey, Craig Ferguson, Wanda Sykes, the Smothers Brothers, Nick Offerman, Key & Peele, and Bob Newhart.

“We are ecstatic to finally be able to gather in person again for this year’s TCA Awards, and we’re going all out with not one, but three talented hosts for the occasion,” said Melanie McFarland, TCA President and TV Critic for Salon. “Through Abbott Elementary, ABC has revitalized the concept of the must-see network comedy, reminding us of the hope shows like this provide in challenging times. With these multitalented co-stars Janelle James, Lisa Ann Walter, and the eternally captivating Sheryl Lee Ralph, we expect the TCA Awards on August 6 to be in a class by itself.”

Abbott Elementary stars Quinta Brunson as Janine Teagues, Tyler James Williams as Gregory Eddie, Janelle James as Ava Coleman, Chris Perfetti as Jacob Hill, Lisa Ann Walter as Melissa Schemmenti and Sheryl Lee Ralph as Barbara Howard. Quinta Brunson serves as writer and executive producer alongside Justin Halpern and Patrick Schumacker of Delicious Non-Sequitur Productions. The series is produced by Warner Bros. Television and 20th Television, a part of Disney Television Studios. Season two of Abbott Elementary debuts Wednesday, September 21 (9:00-9:30 p.m. EDT) on ABC.



The Television Critics Association (TCA) represents more than 200 professional journalists who cover television for publications across the United States and Canada. The members reach tens of millions of consumers each week, and are considered experts within the industry, representing their employers as moderators, panelists, radio/TV guests and more. The prestigious organization honors outstanding achievements in television and enduring contributions to the medium’s heritage through the TCA Awards each year. This year’s TCA Awards are the organization’s 38TH anniversary. For additional information about the TCA, visit; Facebook; and Twitter.



Previous articleAndrew Lloyd Webber and Antonio Banderas form a joint venture to create Spanish language productions across major global markets
Next articleEmergency Now Streaming on Prime Video
Valerie Milano is the well-connected Senior Editor and TV Critic at, a website that aggregates showbiz news curated for, and written by, insiders of the entertainment industry. (@HwoodTimes @TheHollywood.Times) Milano, whose extraordinary talents for networking in the famously tight-clad enclave of Hollywood have placed her at the center of the industry’s top red carpets and events since 1984, heads daily operations of a uniquely accessible, yet carefully targeted publication. For years, Milano sat on the board as a chief organizer of the Television Critics Association’s press tours, held twice a year in Beverly Hills and Pasadena. She has written for Communications Daily, Discover Hollywood, Hollywood Today, Television International, and Video Age International, and contributed to countless other magazines and digests. Valerie works closely with the Human Rights Campaign as a distinguished Fed Club Council Member. She also works with GLSEN, GLAAD, Outfest, NCLR, LAMBDA Legal, and the Desert Aids Project, in addition to donating both time and finances to high-profile nonprofits. She has been an active member of the Los Angeles Press Club for a couple of years and looks forward to the possibility of contributing to the future success of its endeavors. Milano’s passion for meeting people extends from Los Feliz to her favorite getaway, Palm Springs. There, she is a member of the Palm Springs Museum of Art and a prominent Old Las Palmas-area patron.