Home Union news SAG-AFTRA Members Elect Gabrielle Carteris President, Jane Austin Secretary-Treasurer

SAG-AFTRA Members Elect Gabrielle Carteris President, Jane Austin Secretary-Treasurer

Los Angeles (Aug. 24, 2017) — SAG-AFTRA members have elected two of the union’s top ranking officers, choosing Gabrielle Carteris as president and Jane Austin as secretary-treasurer. Their two-year terms begin today.

Ballots for the national officers election were mailed to approximately 144,000 eligible voters on July 25, 2017, and 28,988 were returned today, for a return of 20.11 percent. Gabrielle Carteris received 14,674 votes, with Esai Morales receiving 8,145 votes, Pete Antico receiving 4,114 votes, Robert B. Martin, Jr., receiving 1,207 votes and Marilyn Monrovia receiving 715 votes.

In the election for secretary-treasurer, Jane Austin was elected to the position with 15,312 votes, Jason George received 10,953 votes and Chuck Slavin received 2,248 votes.

President Gabrielle Carteris said, “I’m deeply humbled that our members have entrusted me with the privilege and honor of continuing to lead our great union. During the campaign I pledged to work every day to protect and empower our SAG-AFTRA members, and I will keep that commitment. I look forward to listening to all of our members, not just those who voted for me. We must continue to work together to truly realize our potential.”

Secretary-Treasurer Jane Austin said, “Thank you my fellow members, for exercising your right to vote and trusting me to represent your interests for another two years as the Secretary-Treasurer of SAG-AFTRA. It is an honor to continue the work that has been set in motion, and to provide transparency in union activities in order to achieve many more future successes on your behalf.”

SAG-AFTRA National Executive Director David White welcomed the officers saying, “I would like to congratulate all of the officers elected today. I look forward to working with President Carteris and Secretary-Treasurer Austin to continue the tremendous progress we have made over the last several years. The staff and I are eager to work with all of the elected leaders nationwide on the many union initiatives and goals that support, inspire and empower SAG-AFTRA members.”

A working actor for nearly 30 years, Carteris became a household name playing Andrea Zuckerman on Beverly Hills, 90210. Her extensive resume includes work in television, film and the stage, with recent credits including a recurring role on Code Black and guest-starring roles on Criminal MindsMake It or Break ItThe EventLongmire and The Middle. Carteris was first elected SAG-AFTRA president in April 2016, and previously served as executive vice president from 2013-16. A fierce advocate for inclusion and equity for all, Carteris is a sought-after speaker and panelist on diversity topics and led the union’s fight to pass California’s “IMDb Law,” which helps mitigate rampant age discrimination in entertainment and other industries. In August 2016, she was also elected a vice president on the AFL-CIO’s executive council.

Austin was first elected the union’s secretary-treasurer and Los Angeles Local president in 2015. She is an experienced stunt performer and owner of Hollywood Stuntworks. She has appeared in numerous films, including Wayne’s WorldThe Naked GunRed Eye and Elizabethtown. On television, she has worked on JustifiedTrue BloodLaw & Order: Special Victims Unit and Key and Peele. She has served 14 years on SAG-AFTRA’s National Board and the boards of its predecessor unions. She has also chaired the Stunt Committee and served on the National Executive, Communications and Disciplinary Review committees and spearheaded the successful effort to have stunt performers and their work recognized at the SAG Awards.

Ballots for the union’s two largest locals, Los Angeles and New York, were also tabulated Thursday. Jane Austin was re-elected president of the Los Angeles Local and Mike Hodge was re-elected president of the New York Local.

To see all election results, visit sagaftra.org/2017elections.

The union’s No. 2 position, executive vice president, as well the seven vice president positions, will be elected by delegates at SAG-AFTRA’s biennial convention, which takes place in Los Angeles Oct. 5-8.

SAG-AFTRA represents approximately 160,000 actors, announcers, broadcast journalists, dancers, DJs, news writers, news editors, program hosts, puppeteers, recording artists, singers, stunt performers, voiceover artists and other entertainment and media professionals. SAG-AFTRA members are the faces and voices that entertain and inform America and the world. A proud affiliate of the AFL-CIO, SAG-AFTRA has national offices in Los Angeles and New York and local offices nationwide representing members working together to secure the strongest protections for entertainment and media artists into the 21st century and beyond. Visit SAG-AFTRA online at SAGAFTRA.org.


Previous articleLook to the Stars
Next articleComplimentary Coffee + Espresso at barcito
Valerie Milano is the well-connected Senior Editor and TV Critic at TheHollywoodTimes.Today, a showbiz/promotions aggregate mainly for insiders. She has written for Communications Daily, Hollywood Today, Television International, and Video Age International plus freelanced for others. Valerie donates and works closely with the Human Rights Campaign (Fed Club Council Member), GLSEN, Outfest, NCLR, LAMBDA Legal and the Desert Aids Project. She is a member of the Los Angeles Press Club. Milano loves meeting people and does so in her fave getaway Palm Springs as a member of the Palm Springs Museum of Art and the Old Las Palmas area community member. Valerie was a veteran 17-year member, and one of the "chief organizers” of the prestigious and long running, TCA: Television Critics Association’s press tour. For years Valerie was a board member and one of the chief organizers of the association. TCA press tours are “a must” for hundreds of TV critics twice a year, in Beverly Hills and in Pasadena.