Home #Hwoodtimes Interview with Mega Hit Songwriter, Kent Blazy, Talks About His New Album...

Interview with Mega Hit Songwriter, Kent Blazy, Talks About His New Album “Authentic”

Kent Blazy

By Judy Shields

Rancho Cucamonga, California (The Hollywood Times) 09/30/2020 – “I wanted to call my new Album Authentic because that is how I want my songwriting and the music used on this album to come across, AUTHENTIC, real music to real words,” Kent Blazy said during our telephone conversation about his new album Authentic.


Check out our conversation here:

NASHVILLE, Tenn.  — Mega hit songwriter and performer, Kent Blazy, has announced the release of his new album, Authentic, recorded and mixed  by Chris Utley at Sound Emporium Studios located in Nashville, TN and mastered by Mayfield Mastering. The new music is available to order on Kent Blazy’s website Streaming and download is available on all digital music platforms here.

Kent Blazy at the Bluebird Cafe

“What does a songwriter /performer do in a pandemic, of course create a new record! Authentic is the title, although it could have been called six masked men,” exclaimed Kent Blazy! “My aim was to have this record bring hope, joy, gratitude and fun to anyone listening.”

This project has Jon Pardi’s bass player, Lee Francis, and drummer, Kevin Murphy locking in the groove, Steve Allen from the pop band, 2020, on electric guitar and Josh Martin on guitar, mandolin, vocals and good vibes as well as Kent Blazy on electric guitar and vocals. ” I am blessed to have two songs that are on this album that have been recorded by other artist, but not yet released on their individual projects,” stated Blazy. “Garth Brooks has recorded, “Me Without You” and Steve Wariner recorded, “Scotty Moore.”

Blazy added, “It was an emotional and joyful experience to play with other musicians again and to hear them bring to life the songs I had been creating. I love the way it all came together with ease. I miss playing live and doing album release shows and look forward to the day that will be possible again. I hope the listeners will enjoy hearing these songs as much as I did creating it.”

Art Design – Josh Martin

Authentic – Track List:
1. Thanks To You (Back From The Dead)
2. Authentic
3. Me Without You
4. Livin’ In A Dyin’ Town
5. What I Am
6. Scotty Moore feat. Steve Wariner
7. Crazy Times
8. Lies, Lies, Lies
9. Lighthouse
10. Rose
11. London In The Rain
12. Faith Stronger Than Fear
13. Sun’s Gonna Shine Again


Stay current with Kent Blazy on his website Follow him on social media platforms Facebook and Twitter.

Music can be found on all digital music platforms for streaming and download at CD BabyiTunesApple MusicAmazon Music and Google Play.


About Kent Blazy:

Kent Blazy and autographed guitar at Bluebird Cafe

Kent Blazy is an American country music songwriter from Lexington, KY who now calls Nashville, TN home. His credits include several singles for Garth Brooks, as well as singles by Gary Morris, Diamond Rio, Patty Loveless and Chris Young. Blazy has a total of seven number one hits to his credit. At an early age, he played rhythm guitar and sang in various local bands, citing The Byrds, Rodney Crowell and Joe Ely as influences. He later played for Canadian singer Ian Tyson. Later on, Blazy met former Exile member Mark Gray, who suggested that Blazy move to Nashville, Tennessee. Eventually, he signed to a publishing contract, but the publishing company closed; despite the loss of contract, Gary Morris sent Blazy’s “Headed for a Heartache” into top 5 on the country charts. By the late 1980s, Blazy met with a then-unknown Garth Brooks, who gave him the idea for a song entitled “If Tomorrow Never Comes.”

Garth Brooks and Kent Blazy

He and Brooks co-wrote the song, which went on to become Brooks’ first number one hit. Brooks continued to record Blazy’s material throughout the 1990s, including the singles “Ain’t Goin’ Down (‘Til the Sun Comes Up),” “It’s Midnight Cinderella,” “She’s Gonna Make It,” “Somewhere Other Than the Night” and the George Jones duet “Beer Run (B Double E Double Are You In?).” He also co-wrote “That’s What I Get for Lovin’ You” by Diamond Rio and “Can’t Get Enough” by Patty Loveless in the late 1990s. Blazy, along with songwriters Pat Alger, Tony Arata and Kim Williams, recorded an album entitled A Songwriters’ Tribute to Garth Brooks, which included their renditions of songs that they had written for Brooks. This album was released in 2001 via VFR Records. Other songs that Blazy has co-written include “You Can Let Go” by Crystal Shawanda and “Gettin’ You Home (The Black Dress Song)” by Chris Young from 2008 and 2009 respectively, as well as American Idol season 8 finalist Danny Gokey’s debut single “My Best Days Are Ahead of Me.”

As a boy, he would put his transistor radio up to his ear before bed and listen to Roger Miller to Sinatra to the Beatles to the Four Tops on WVLK AM.

At age 16, Blazy got a guitar for Christmas and started putting the poetry he wrote to music. 

He bought packs of Marlboros for an older boy down the street in exchange for a few lessons on guitar licks, and he saved all his weekly lunch money to buy picks and strings.

At age 24 years old and making a go of it as a professional artist.

Philanthropic interests include Alive Hospice, in honor of his wife who passed away from cancer. Read The Tennessean article online here