Home Awards ‘Grace and Frankie,’ ‘The Good Wife,’ ‘Roots,’ Amazon’s Roy Price & Liberty...

‘Grace and Frankie,’ ‘The Good Wife,’ ‘Roots,’ Amazon’s Roy Price & Liberty Global’s Michael T. Fries Win Big at Caucus for Producers, Writers & Directors 34th Awards

  roymikecauLos Angeles, CA — The Caucus for Producers, Writers & Directors’ 34th Caucus Awards was a fun, festive ceremony and dinner, held recently at the Skirball Cultural Center. Many industry heavy-hitters were in the room and diversity was exemplified throughout the night.

Co-chairs Robert Papazian and Tanya Hart, along with Awards Dinner Chair/Executive Producer Chuck Fries, and Co-Producers/Vice Chairs Lee Miller and Vin Di Bona were proud to honor Michael T. Fries, Vice Chairman/President, CEO of Liberty Global with the Executive of the Year Award and Roy Price, Vice President and Head of Amazon Studios with the New Visions AwardThe Chair’s Award was presented to Producer Stephanie Allain, Homegrown Pictures. Executive Producer/Director/Educator Kevin Bright received The Caucus Lifetime Achievement Award and Professor & Founder Fun Little Movies Frank Chindamo was presented with The Caucus Distinguished Service Award.


“As co-chairs of the Caucus we were, thrilled with the high quality all award honorees for this year’s Caucus Awards Dinner. They all exemplify excellence in the business of entertainment despite the constantly changing media landscape.  We are so grateful to have these wonderful individuals to be a part of the Caucus for at least one night”. Says The Caucus co-chairs, Robert Papazian and Tanya Hart.

Here’s the complete list of winners:


Honors Award Winners

Producer: Marta Kauffman (“Grace and Frankie”)

Producer: Howard J. Morris (“Grace and Frankie”)

Writer: Robert and Michelle King (“The Good Wife” & “In Justice”)


Director: Thomas Carter (“Roots”)

Caucus Executive of the Year Award


Michael T. Fries, vice chairman, president and CEO, Liberty Global

Caucus Lifetime Achievement Award


Kevin Bright, executive producer, director, educator

New Visions Award

Roy Price, head of Amazon Studios

Caucus Chair’s Award

Stephanie Allain, producer, Homegrown Pictures

Caucus Distinguished Service Award

Frank Chindamo, professor, founder, Fun Little Movies

2016 Caucus Gold Circle Awards

First Place Winner: Panavision Camera Package — Ellie Foumbi for “Nocturne in Black” (Columbia University)

Second Place Winner: Illuminate Studios Post Production Package — Julio Vincent Gambuto for “The Julie Stories” (USC)

2016 Caucus Television and New Media Award

Dodge College, Chapman University, —Kevin Harman for “The Kama Sutra Club” 

About The Caucus Awards Dinner

The Caucus’ new motto is “Leading the Evolution” and that’s what they have been doing for over 40 years.  Each year The Caucus honors outstanding creative television and new media talent at their Annual Awards Dinner. Awards are presented to outstanding individuals and three winners of the Caucus Honors from the list of nominees.  The Caucus Foundation’s student Gold Circle Award is presented to two grant recipients for their 2015/16 student films. In promoting the upcoming generation of television and new media content creators, The Caucus Foundation will also present the Television and New Media Award to a university’s creative team for an exceptional project.

A significant portion of the proceeds from the dinner will benefit The Caucus Foundation, which has provided grants and awards of $1.5 million to 154 worthy students to complete their film, television or new media projects.
About The Caucus For Producers, Writers & Directors
Linking the best of Hollywood’s and Television’s creative content providers (i.e. the top 100 Television producers, writers and program directors of Primetime, Daytime and Children’s programming) with the rest of the web world!  For the past 42 years in Network Television (and now in Cable and Satellite Television as well), The Caucus has provided a forum for the best and the brightest creative talent in Hollywood to network together as the ‘creative conscience’ of the Television industry.  The Caucus, as the leaders of the creative Television community, has always stood for better and more meaningful television.  That means Television Programs produced, written and directed in a working environment that supports the best product that we can create for our audience. 

Current members of The Caucus also include Tom Hanks, JJ Abrams, Chuck Fries, James Burrows, Bob Papazian, Vin Di Bona, Suzanne de Passe, Charles Floyd Johnson, Dennis Doty, Norman Powell, Lee Miller and other leading producers, writers and directors. For additional information on The Caucus visit:


Photo Credit: Steve Cohn Photography

Previous articleToast to 2017 Under the Fireworks Aboard the Legendary Queen Mary 
Next articleGreetings from the Land of Enchantment – its December so it is time again for the Santa Fe Film Festival. It runs from Wednesday December 7th – December 11th.
Valerie Milano is the well-connected Senior Editor and Entertainment Critic at, a website that aggregates showbiz news curated for, and written by, insiders of the entertainment industry. (@HwoodTimes @TheHollywood.Times) Milano, whose extraordinary talents for networking in the famously tight-clad enclave of Hollywood have placed her at the center of the industry’s top red carpets and events since 1984, heads daily operations of a uniquely accessible, yet carefully targeted publication. For years, Milano sat on the board and tour coordinator of the Television Critics Association’s press tours. She has written for Communications Daily, Discover Hollywood, Hollywood Today, Television International, and Video Age International, and contributed to countless other magazines and digests. Valerie works closely with the Human Rights Campaign as a distinguished Fed Club Council Member. She also works with GLSEN, GLAAD, Outfest, NCLR, LAMBDA Legal, and DAP Health, in addition to donating both time and finances to high-profile nonprofits. She has been a member of the Los Angeles Press Club for a couple of years and looks forward to the possibility of contributing to the future success of its endeavors. Milano’s passion for meeting people extends from Los Feliz to her favorite getaway, Palm Springs. There, she is a member of the Palm Springs Museum of Art and a prominent Old Las Palmas-area patron.