Home #Hwoodtimes DUNE Wins Feature Film Award from American Society of Cinematographers

DUNE Wins Feature Film Award from American Society of Cinematographers

PIG Captures Spotlight Award and FAYA DAYI Garners Documentary Award

LOS ANGELES (Mar. 20, 2022) – The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) presented its annual awards this evening with Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS earning the feature film award for DUNE: PART ONE. The 36th ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards also celebrated Pat Scola for PIG in the Spotlight Award category, and Jessica Beshir for the documentary FAYA DAYI. Winners in the episodic categories included James Laxton, ASC for THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD; Jon Joffin, ASC for TITAN; Tommy Maddox-Upshaw, ASC for SNOWFALL; and Michael Berlucchi and Marc Carter for MYTHIC QUEST. Debbie Allen hosted the awards show, which was held at the historic ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood.

Below is the complete list of winners and nominees:

Feature Film (presented by Erik Messerschmidt, ASC)
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for DUNE – WINNER
Haris Zambarloukos, BSC, GSC for BELFAST
-category sponsored by KESLOW CAMERA

Spotlight (presented by Sosie Bacon)
Ruben Impens, SBC for TITANE
Pat Scola for PIG – WINNER
Adolpho Veloso, ABC for JOCKEY
-category sponsored by PANAVISION

Documentary (presented by Denis Villeneuve)
Jessica Beshir for FAYA DAYI – WINNER
Isabel Bethencourt and Parker Hill for CUSP
Jan Haft and Daniel Schönauer for THE HIDDEN LIFE OF TREES
-category sponsored SONY

Motion Picture, Limited Series, or Pilot Made for Television (presented by Katherine McNamara)
Steve Annis for FOUNDATION – The Emperor’s Peace
Tim Ives, ASC for HALSTON – The Party’s Over
James Laxton, ASC for THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD – Chapter 9: Indiana Winter – WINNER
Christophe Nuyens, SBC for LUPIN – Chapter 1
Ben Richardson, ASC for MARE OF EASTTOWN – Illusions
-category sponsored by ARRI

Episode of a One-Hour Television Series: Non-Commercial (presented by Morgan Cooper)
Stuart Biddlecombe for THE HANDMAID’S TALE – The Wilderness
David Garbett for SWEET TOOTH – Big Man
David Greene, ASC, CSC for CHAPLEWAITE – The Promised
Jon Joffin, ASC for TITANS – Souls – WINNER
Boris Mojsovski, ASC, CSC for TITANS – Home
Kate Reid, BSC for THE NEVERS – Hanged
-category sponsored by PANAVISION

Episode of a One-Hour Television Series: Commercial (presented by LaMonica Garrett)
Thomas Burstyn, CSC, NZSC for SNOWPIERCER – Our Answer for Everything
Tommy Maddox-Upshaw, ASC for SNOWFALL – Weight – WINNER
Ronald Paul Richard for RIVERDALE – Chapter Eighty-Nine: Reservoir Dogs
Brendan Steacy, CSC for CLARICE – Silence is Purgatory
David Stockton, ASC for MAYANS M.C. – The Orneriness of Kings
Gavin Struthers, ASC, BSC for SUPERMAN & LOIS – Heritage
-category sponsored by RED DIGITAL CINEMA

Episode of a Half-Hour Television Series (presented by Tamlyn Tomita)
Marshall Adams, ASC for SERVANT – 2:00 
Michael Berlucchi and Marc Carter for MYTHIC QUEST – Backstory! – WINNER
Adam Bricker for HACKS – There is No Line
Paula Huidobro for PHYSICAL – Let’s Get Together
Jaime Reynoso, AMC for THE KOMINSKY METHOD – And it’s Getting More and More Absurd
-category sponsored by PICTURE SHOP

This is the second ASC feature award for Fraser, who won in 2017 for LION. Fraser was also nominated in 2021 for THE MANDALORIAN. Joffin won last year for MOTHERLAND: FORT SALEM and in 2019 for BEYOND. He has also earned nominations for ALICE (2011) and THE ANDROMEDA STRAIN (2009). Laxton was previously nominated in 2017 in the feature category for MOONLIGHT.

Last year’s ASC feature film winner was Erik Messerschmidt, ASC, who went on to win the Oscar® for Best Achievement in Cinematography for MANK.

Honorary awards were also presented at the ceremony with Ellen Kuras, ASC, becoming the first woman to receive the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award. The award was presented to Kuras by Rachel Morrison, ASC, who Oscar® nominated for MUDBOUND in the Cinematography category.

Peter Levy, ASC, ACS (PREDATOR 2, CALIFORNICATION) received the Career Achievement in Television Award from his longtime collaborator director Stephen Hopkins.

Rebecca Rhine and Amy Vincent, ASC presented John Lindley, ASC (FIELD OF DREAMS, ST. VINCENT) with the ASC Presidents Award.

The inaugural Curtis Clark Technical Achievement Award was given to Panavision’s Vice President of Optical Engineering and Lens Strategy Dan Sasaki by ASC associate member Jay Holben, who is also a technical editorial for American Cinematographer.

For more information regarding the ASC Awards, visit the ASC website at www.theasc.com.


About the ASC

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is a professional organization dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking. Since its charter in 1919, the ASC has been committed to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography. For over 100 years, the ASC has published AMERICAN CINEMATOGRAPHER magazine, the industry’s definitive source for filmmakers. For additional information about the ASC, visit www.theasc.com or join American Cinematographer on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram ( @the_asc) and (@american_cinematographer ).

Next articleCindy Crawford’s Malibu Mansion Hits Market at $99.5 Million!
Valerie Milano is the well-connected Senior Editor and Entertainment Critic at TheHollywoodTimes.today, a website that aggregates showbiz news curated for, and written by, insiders of the entertainment industry. (@HwoodTimes @TheHollywood.Times) Milano, whose extraordinary talents for networking in the famously tight-clad enclave of Hollywood have placed her at the center of the industry’s top red carpets and events since 1984, heads daily operations of a uniquely accessible, yet carefully targeted publication. For years, Milano sat on the board and tour coordinator of the Television Critics Association’s press tours. She has written for Communications Daily, Discover Hollywood, Hollywood Today, Television International, and Video Age International, and contributed to countless other magazines and digests. Valerie works closely with the Human Rights Campaign as a distinguished Fed Club Council Member. She also works with GLSEN, GLAAD, Outfest, NCLR, LAMBDA Legal, and DAP Health, in addition to donating both time and finances to high-profile nonprofits. She has been a member of the Los Angeles Press Club for a couple of years and looks forward to the possibility of contributing to the future success of its endeavors. Milano’s passion for meeting people extends from Los Feliz to her favorite getaway, Palm Springs. There, she is a member of the Palm Springs Museum of Art and a prominent Old Las Palmas-area patron.