Home Press releases CBS News to Present “Sunday’s Best: Celebrating 40 Years of CBS Sunday...

CBS News to Present “Sunday’s Best: Celebrating 40 Years of CBS Sunday Morning”




A One-Hour Primetime Special Featuring Award-Winning Original Reporting on the Arts, Humanities, Entertainment and More on Sept. 14 AT 8:00 PM

CBS News will present SUNDAY’S BEST: CELEBRATING 40 YEARS OF CBS SUNDAY MORNING, a new, one-hour primetime special spotlighting the best original reporting on the arts, humanities, entertainment, music and much more to be broadcast Friday, Sept. 14 (8:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network.

Jane Pauley will anchor the special, which features CBS SUNDAY MORNING’s award-winning lineup of correspondents delivering insightful reporting on issues that matter to Americans, profiling top entertainment figures, taking an in-depth look at the world of art, design and architecture – and much, much more. The broadcast is a celebration of CBS SUNDAY MORNING’s 40 years.

CBS SUNDAY MORNING has been the #1 Sunday morning news program for 15 consecutive seasons. Anchored by Jane Pauley, each broadcast features a slate of intriguing stories, thought-provoking arts and culture reports, profiles of some of the most memorable figures of our time – along with stories on science, Americana and newsmaker interviews. The long list of CBS SUNDAY MORNING’s high-profile interviews includes Presidents Barack Obama, George W. Bush, Bill Clinton and Jimmy Carter, along with former first lady Michelle Obama, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, House Speaker Paul Ryan, Bruce Springsteen, 50 Cent, Bono, Pharrell Williams, Glen Campbell, Jennifer Lopez, Venus Williams, Tom Brady, Shakira, Elton John, James Patterson, Ta-Nehisi Coates, Tom Wolfe, and scores of others.

The broadcast launched Jan. 28, 1979 with Charles Kuralt as anchor. Charles Osgood was named Kuralt’s successor in 1994 and held the position until he stepped down in September 2016, when Jane Pauley was named anchor.

Correspondents include Lee Cowan, Rita Braver, Mo Rocca, Tracy Smith and Martha Teichner. Among the program’s contributing correspondents: Ted Koppel, Serena Altschul, Nancy Giles, Luke Burbank, David Pogue, Conor Knighton, Faith Salie, Steve Hartman and Anthony Mason.

Since its inception, the broadcast has earned virtually every honor available in broadcast journalism, including three Daytime Emmy Awards for Outstanding Morning Program.


Follow CBS SUNDAY MORNING on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and CBSNews.com. Listen to CBS SUNDAY MORNING podcasts at iTunes, Stitcher Radio, Radio.com and TuneIn