Home Charity American Cancer Society Celebrated 12th Annual Taste of Hope With Culinary Honoree...

American Cancer Society Celebrated 12th Annual Taste of Hope With Culinary Honoree Aarón Sánchez And Survivor Honoree Miri Torres Hosted by Chris Wragge

American Cancer Society | 12th annual


Jamie Koff, Jean Shafiroff, Miri Torres, Chef Aarón Sánchez, Mark D. Friedman (Photo Credit: Patrick McMullan)

 Hosted by





The American Cancer Society hosted the 12th Annual Taste of Hope on Tuesday, May 9th, 2017 at the Metropolitan Pavilion in New York. The event raised over $185,000.

Notable attendees included:  Jean Shafiroff, Chef Aarón Sánchez, Miri Torres, Mark D. Friedman, Jamie Koff, Chris Wragge, Danny Burstein, Victor de Souza, Roger Friedman, Chef Dale Talde, David Alan Basche, Chef David Burke, Chef Michael Ferraro, Stacy Fischer-Rosenthal, Melanie McManus, Drew Nieporent and Richard Rosenthal.

This years’ Volunteer Host Committee included Jean Shafiroff, Chef Dale Talde, David Alan Basche, Chef David Burke, Stacy Fischer-Rosenthal, Melanie McManus, Drew Nieporent and Alysia Reiner. 

Event Co-Chairs Mark D. Friedman and Jamie Koff volunteered for 9 months to produce this signature culinary, wine, and spirits event. More than 700 guests enjoyed bites from New York City’s top restaurants and philanthropic chefs, and sips from leading winemakers and spirit brands. This year, more than 65 restaurants participated including: Alidoro, AG Kitchen, Bareburger, Ben & Jack’s Steakhouse, Calle Ocho, Delicatessen, Luke’s Lobster, Serendipity 3, Morris Tap & Grill, Sprinkles Cupcakes, Tavern 62, Rock Center Café, The Smith and more.


This year’s celebration recognized Chef Aarón Sánchez as the Culinary Honoree and Miri Torres, Founder and CEO of Arianna Skincare, as the Survivor Honoree. CBS News’ Chris Wragge was back to Emcee. Since its inception, Taste of Hope has raised more than $1.6 million to support the American Cancer Society’s mission to save lives and lead the fight for a world without cancer.

Attendees also had the opportunity to bid on silent auction prizes donated from leading organizations including: Fresco by Scotto, New York Yankees, JetBlue, Beauty & Essex, Crosby Street Hotel and Tod’s Group. Corporate support for this year’s event has been received from the following: Arianna Skincare, Allsate, Arbill, Freshdirect, Halstead Property, Sabert, UHY LLP and VTV Family Outreach Foundation. 


This year’s Benefit Committee included Jennifer Cayetano, Melissa Cohen, Gail Eissenstat, Nicole Filingeri, Susan Goldman, Melanie Greene, Erin Lechacz, Wayne Margolin, Jeanine Marino, Kara Mignone, Sari Pollack, Kim Poulos, Christina Poopatana, Melissa Siegel and Scott Sheehy. Associate Committee included Brittany Stevenson, Eliza Bensley, Gracie Gordon and Michelle Tamayo. 

The event was followed online at @ACSTOHNYC (Instagram), @ACSTasteOfHope (Twitter), and by hashtag #TOH2017.



Tuesday, May 9th 2017

7:00pm – 10:00pm


Metropolitan Pavilion

125 West 18th Street

New York, NY

About Taste of Hope:

Taste of Hope® was founded in 2005 by the American Cancer Society as a way to celebrate New York dining while raising funds to help the Society’s mission to fight for every birthday threatened by every cancer in every community. Between the early 1990s and 2013 the Society has seen a 20 percent decrease in the overall cancer death rate, which means they have helped to avoid about 1.2million cancer deaths and created the potential for more birthday celebrations.

For more information, visit:

To make a donation please visit:

To download video of the event, please visit:

Next articleAustralia's Natasa Denman -The Ultimate 48 Hours Author arrives in Pasadena for her workshop tour
Valerie Milano is the well-connected Senior Editor and Entertainment Critic at, a website that aggregates showbiz news curated for, and written by, insiders of the entertainment industry. (@HwoodTimes @TheHollywood.Times) Milano, whose extraordinary talents for networking in the famously tight-clad enclave of Hollywood have placed her at the center of the industry’s top red carpets and events since 1984, heads daily operations of a uniquely accessible, yet carefully targeted publication. For years, Milano sat on the board and tour coordinator of the Television Critics Association’s press tours. She has written for Communications Daily, Discover Hollywood, Hollywood Today, Television International, and Video Age International, and contributed to countless other magazines and digests. Valerie works closely with the Human Rights Campaign as a distinguished Fed Club Council Member. She also works with GLSEN, GLAAD, Outfest, NCLR, LAMBDA Legal, and DAP Health, in addition to donating both time and finances to high-profile nonprofits. She has been a member of the Los Angeles Press Club for a couple of years and looks forward to the possibility of contributing to the future success of its endeavors. Milano’s passion for meeting people extends from Los Feliz to her favorite getaway, Palm Springs. There, she is a member of the Palm Springs Museum of Art and a prominent Old Las Palmas-area patron.